Witali L. Dunin-Barkowski



Witali L. Dunin-Barkowski, PhD, D. Sci.
Professor and Chair,
Department of Neuroinformatics,
Center for Optical Neural Technologies,
Scientific Research Institute for System Analysis,
Russian Academy of Sciences
119333, –úoscow, Vavilova Str., 44/2
Ph.: +7-499-135-7802
URL: http://www.niisi.ru/iont/staff/dbvl/index_eng.php






Professor Dunin-Barkowski is a Founder and the Honorable President of Russian Neural Network Society, RNNS, adjunct Professor, Department of cell Physiology and Molecular Biophysics, Texas Tech University, invited member of the section "Information processing in live systems and bioinformatics" of the Scholar Council of the Institute of Information Transmission Problems of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Research interests of Witali L. Dunin-Barkowski include neuroinformatics and theoretical and experimental biophysics of nervous system. He is an author and editor of several monographs on neuroinformatics and of many papers in professional and popular editions. He served as committees member of many Russian and International conferences. Currently he is on editorial boards of international journals Neurocomputing and Neural Processing Letters.

In 1990-1995 Witali L. Dunin-Barkowski headed the Research Institute for Neurocybernetics at Rostov State University (since 1991, A.B.Kogan Research Institute for Neurocybernetics, the KRINC), he organized Computational Neuroscience research at the KRINC, he has an instrumental role in intensification of international collaborations of KRINC researchers. Also, by his initiative, the Chair of Biophysics and Biocybernetics was organized, based on the KRINC facilities and that of the University (initially Rostov State University and later FSU) Faculty of Physics. He has chaired and co-chaired, the following cornerstone scientific meetings:

  • Scientific Session of Department of Informatics, Computer Science and Automation of the USSR Academy of Sciences, entitled "Informatics, Physics, and Electronics of Neural and Neuron-Like Systems" (Rostov-on-Don, 1990);
  • Two Intenational Symposiums on Neuroinformatics and Neurocomputers (Rostov-on-Don, 1992, 1995) in cooperation with IEEE NNC and RNNS;
  • Neurocomputing Opportunities Workshop (Washington, USA, 1999).



    Witali L. Dunin-Barkowski was a scientific supervisor of PhD theses of several LNISMS members. On his initiative and under his leadership, a series of experimental and theoretical studies on local neural networks in the cerebellum has been performed (grants of Soros International Science Foundation, RFBR and Universities of Russia Program. As a result of these studies, pairs of Purkinje cells, controlled with the same liana cell (the source of the Purkinje cell climbing fibers) were been identified in the targeted electrophysiologycal experiments.

Дунин-Барковский Виталий Львович



Почетный член ЛНИСМС,
Заведующий Отделом нейроинформатики,
Центр оптико-нейронных технологий НИИСИ РАН
119333, Москва, ул.Вавилова, 44, корп. 2
Тел.: +7-499-135-7802
URL:http://www.niisi.ru/iont/staff/dbvl/index_rus.php






Виталий Львович Дунин-Барковский, доктор физико-математических наук, профессор.
Основатель и почетный Президент Российской Ассоциации нейроинформатики (Russian Neural Network Society, RNNS), адъюнкт-профессор Департамента физиологии клетки и молекулярной биофизики Техасского технологического института, приглашённый член секции "Информационные процессы в живых системах и биоинформатика" Ученого совета Института проблем передачи информации РАН.

Область научных интересов В.Л. Дунина-Барковского включает нейроинформатику, а также теоретическую и экспериментальную биофизику нервной системы. Он является автором и редактором ряда монографий в области нейроинформатики и статей в профессиональных изданиях, членом программных комитетов многих российских и международных конференций и членом редколлегии международных журналов Neurocomputing and Neural Processing Letters.

В 1990-1995 гг. Дунин-Барковский В.Л. был директором НИИ нейрокибернетики РГУ (c 1991 г. - НИИ НК им. А.Б. Когана), являлся инициатором развития в институте исследований, проводимых с помощью методов Computational Neuroscience, интенсификации международных контактов сотрудников института и создания при НИИ НК РГУ кафедры биофизики и биокибернетики. По его инициативе были проведены:

  • выездная сессия Отделения информатики, вычислительной техники и автоматизации "Информатика, физика и электроника нейронных и нейроподобных систем" Академии наук СССР (Ростов-на-Дону, 1990);
  • два международных симпозиума по нейроинформатике и нейрокомпьютерам (Ростов-на-Дону, 1992 г.,1995 г.) совместно с IEEE NNC и RNNS;
  • Neurocomputing Opportunities Workshop (Washington, USA, 1999 г.).



    Дунин-Барковский В.Л. был руководителем нескольких диссертационных работ, выполненных в ЛНИСМС. По его инициативе и под его руководством в ЛНИСМС проводятся экспериментальные и теоретические исследования локальных нейронных сетей мозжечка в рамках грантов Soros International Science Foundation, РФФИ и по программе Университеты России . В качестве специфического объекта для исследования механизмов взаимодействия входов лианных и параллельных волокон в коре мозжечка им были выбраны клетки Пуркинье, иннервируемые одной и той же лианной клеткой. В результате многолетних поисковых экспериментальных исследований такие клетки Пуркинье были обнаружены.